Bring it all Together

I’ve been a sports fan all of my life, but I have never gone very in depth regarding the sports industry as a whole. This blog has given me the opportunity to look at another side of sports, and I learned some very interesting things.

I first talked about sports leagues and their involvement with various charitable organizations. I focused specifically on NBA Cares, a recent effort by the NBA to participate in philanthropy or community service. NBA Cares is interesting in that it centralizes and organizes all philanthropic efforts by the NBA; it is more than just a partnership. This shows that professional sports are placing more emphasis on not only giving back, but providing good public relations as well.

I also wrote an article about different ways franchises are organized, specifically public and private ownership. I especially liked writing this article because I was able to draw examples of both from the NFL, since the NFL was one publically-owned team, the Green Bay Packers. Whereas the other 31 NFL teams have a sole owner or family controlling the franchise, the Packers have shareholders and are represented by a chairman. This has allowed the Packers to limit corporate influence, at the risk of less revenue.

One topic I went in depth on was the 2004-05 NHL lockout. The lockout was a dispute between players and owners over various issues, most importantly player salaries and the debate of adding a salary cap. The negotiations did not end in time for there to be a season, resulting in the cancellation of the entire 2004-05 season (the first time a major North American sports leagues has experienced a full cancellation).

My last post was about the possibility of an NFL franchise in Los Angeles. Los Angeles has not had a team since the mid-1990s when the Rams and Raiders moved to St. Louis and Oakland, respectively. There has been recent talk about moving a team there because a new stadium has been approved. However, the process is stalling and it is unclear whether a team will move to Los Angeles in the near future.

As a sports fan, I was very excited about writing this blog. It’s always fun to write about something I enjoy, and sports are definitely an example of that. I hope you enjoyed reading this blog as much as I enjoyed writing it. Thank you, now go watch some sports!

Leave a Reply

